New Interstate Medical Licensure Compact

New Interstate Medical Licensure Compact

Created by the Federation of State Medical Boards to bring doctors and patients together, the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact offers a fast and easy way for eligible physicians to become licensed in multiple states.

As of earlier of this year, the Compact has been implemented in eighteen U.S. states, with others expected to adopt soon. These states include Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

To be eligible for expedited licensure, you must:

  • Possess a full and unrestricted license to practice medicine in a Compact state
  • Possess specialty certification or be in possession of a time unlimited specialty certificate
  • Have no discipline on any state medical license
  • Have no discipline related to controlled substances
  • Not be under investigation by any licensing or law enforcement agency
  • Have passed the USMLE or COMLEX (or equivalent) within 3 attempts
  • Have successfully completed a graduate medical education (GME) program

Want to learn more about the Compact and see what it means for you as a locum tenens physician? Visit Interim Physicians to read more.

Comments are closed.